BackPrintAsk a QuestionApply Online

HND in Construction and the Built Enviroment

The Level 4 BTEC Higher National Certificate in Construction and the Built Environment offers students a broad introduction to the subject area via a mandatory core of learning, as well as units within general ‘pathways’, while allowing for the acquisition of skills and experience through the selection of a further (Level 4) unit across a range of occupational sectors. This effectively builds underpinning core skills, with general specialisation; preparing the student for further specialisation at Level 5. Students will gain a wide range of sector knowledge tied to practical skills gained in research, self-study, directed study and workplace scenarios. The Level 5 BTEC Higher National Diploma in Construction and The Built Environment offers students various ‘specialist pathways’ designed to support progression into relevant occupational areas or on to degree-level study. These pathways are linked to professional Body standards and vendor accredited certification (where appropriate) and can provide professional status and progression to direct employment.

Entry Requirements
For students who have recently been in education, the entry profile is likely to include one of the following:
*A BTEC Level 3 qualification in Construction and the Built Environment
*A GCE Advanced Level profile that demonstrates strong performance in a relevant subject or adequate performance in more than one GCE subject. This profile is likely to be supported by GCSE grades at A* to C (or equivalent)
*Other related Level 3 qualifications
*An Access to Higher Education Certificate awarded by an approved further education institution
*Related work experience
*An international equivalent of the above

If you do not hold GCSE maths and English at Grade C (Grade 4-5) or above then it is strongly recommended that you study these before starting on a Higher National programme, both to support your study and to allow you to progress to higher education. On receipt of your application to study this course you will be invited to attend an admissions interview with a member of the teaching team to discuss the course and its requirements further.

At Level 4 students develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the construction and the built environment sector through four core units, which includes one unit assessed through a Pearson-set assignment. The core units are:
1 - Individual Project (Pearson Set)
2 - Construction Technology
3 - Science & Materials
4 - Construction Practice and Management
Depending on the ‘specialist pathway’, at Level 4, students will undertake a further three specialist units (related to their Level 4 Pathway) from:
5 - Legal & Statutory Responsibilities in Construction
6 - Construction Information (Drawing, Detailing, Specification)
8 - Mathematics for Construction
9 - Principles of Heating Services Design & Installation
10 - Principles of Ventilation & Air Conditioning Design & Installation
11 - Measurement & Estimating
12 - Financial Management & Business Practices in Construction
20 - Principles of Structural Design
The centre can also choose a further optional unit at Level 4 from the following:
7 - Surveying, Measuring & Setting Out
13 - Tender & Procurement
14 - Building Information Modelling
15 - Principles of Refurbishment
16 - Principles of Alternative Energy
17 - Principles of Public Health Engineering
18 - Civil Engineering Technology
19 - Principles of Electrical Design & Installation
21 - Site Supervision & Operations
The Level 5 BTEC Higher National Diploma offers the following specialist pathways for students who wish to concentrate on a particular aspect of construction and the built environment:
? Construction – Management
? Construction – Architectural Technology
? Building Services Engineering – Electrical
? Building Services Engineering – Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning
? Civil Engineering
? Quantity Surveying

The Higher National units are assessed internally. You will be graded for each individual unit with a Pass, Merit or Distinction. You may be assessed in a number of different ways, such as presentations, written reports and practical tasks.

Awarding Body
Pearson BTEC

The BTEC Higher National Certificate (HNC) is a Level 4 qualification made up of 120 credits. It is usually studied full-time over one year, or part-time over two years. The BTEC Higher National Diploma (HND) is a Level 4 and Level 5 qualification made up of 240 credits. It is usually studied full-time over two years, or part-time over four years. You will be expected to attend taught sessions at Macclesfield College for a minimum of 12 hours over two days each week with additional work placements.

Follow up courses/Progression
On successful completion of this course you can continue with employment or use the HNC or HND as entry to apply for other Higher Education qualifications. You can apply to university to complete a degree in a related subject; entry to the degree may be at Year 2 or Year 3 dependent upon the university and degree programme. This qualification can also be used to support a job application within engineering or a related profession.

Additional Information
You will be advised in the interview for any additional requirements.

Course information code: CON-12-17  

BackPrintAsk a QuestionApply Online